Britten - A Ceremony of Carols & Saint Nicolas

Recorded 10-13 September 2007 and 15-16 January 2012. Released October 2012.


“….pretty much unalloyed inspiration and delight…” – International Record Review

Released in Benjamin Britten’s centenary year, this album presents two of the composer’s greatest choral works from the remarakbly productive decade in the 1940s which also yielded ‘Hymn to Saint Cecilia’ and ‘Rejoice in the Lamb’. Tenor soloist Allan Clayton joins the ensemble to sing the role of St Nicolas, originally written for Britten’s muse Peter Pears.

Album page and digital booklet at Hyperion Records

This album is available on Spotify: use the embedded player below to listen to track previews; click on the album title to listen to the album in full on Spotify.


Hyperion Records CDA67946


  • The Choir of Trinity College Cambridge
  • Holst Singers
  • Boys of the Temple Church Choir
  • Luke McWatters (Treble)
  • Zoë Brown (Soprano)
  • Katherine Watson (Soprano)
  • Allan Clayton (Tenor)
  • Sally Pryce (Harp)
  • City of London Sinfonia
  • Stephen Layton (Conductor)