Handel - Chandos Anthems, Vol.1

Recorded 29 June-1 July 2008. Released April 2009.


“Stephen Layton is on a roll … his inspirational direction and choice of top soloists makes this a welcome addition to earlier recordings.” – The Observer

Written for the Duke of Chandos’s short-lived ‘English Versailles’ at Canons Park, Handel’s ‘Chandos Anthems’ show the composer still burning hot with the influence and inspiration of Italy. Emma Kirkby leads an outstanding cast of soloists; the Academy of Ancient Music provide peerlessly authentic orchestral support.

Album page and digital booklet at Hyperion Records

This album is available on Spotify: use the embedded player below to listen to track previews; click on the album title to listen to the album in full on Spotify.


Hyperion Records CDA67737


  • Emma Kirkby (Soprano)
  • Iestyn Davies (Countertenor)
  • James Gilchrist (Tenor)
  • Neal Davies (Bass)
  • The Choir of Trinity College Cambridge
  • Academy of Ancient Music
  • Stephen Layton (Conductor)